Dreamstime

Dog licenses are the law — otherwise, you'll have to fetch your wallet

February 11, 2019 - 3:15 am
Categories: 

By Amy E. Feldman, Judge Technology Solutions

PHILADELPHIA (KYW Newsradio) — Are you legally obligated to get a license for your dog? 

Authorities in Bakersfield, California, are going door-to-door looking for the worst kind of criminal: people who have not registered for licenses for their dogs. 

If they are caught, they'll receive a "fix-it ticket," which will require them to have their animals vaccinated and licensed. 

First, I'm moving to Bakersfield, California, which has apparently solved all actual crimes. Also, dog licenses are a thing? That you actually need to get for your dog? 

Yes. It turns out that virtually every state has a law requiring dog owners to pay a fee to register a dog. 

In some states, you must show that the dog is up-to-date on its rabies vaccine when you do so. The cost of the license is usually low, between $10 and $20, but the penalty for not getting one is high — often up to $300, depending on the state. 

So it's worth the small price to comply rather than finding yourself in the dog house.