Dreamstime

What are the age requirements for a tattoo license?

November 20, 2018 - 3:30 am
Categories: 

By Amy E. Feldman, Judge Technology Solutions

PHILADELPHIA (KYW Newsradio) — An Ohio woman agreed that her son could get a tattoo. 

He's 10.

The woman claims she got tired of her son's constant badgering, so she gave in and let him get a tattoo. The tattoo artist isn't even of age: He's 16.  

Lest you were worried that he is no tattooing expert, he has apparently tattooed other people in his home, which the police report described as unsanitary, but so far, only one has been infected with MRSA — that we know about.  

What are the laws on tattoos? State laws vary widely. In most states, you have to be 18 to get one. In Nevada, it's 14 — but nowhere is it 10.

As for who can tattoo someone, some states like Arkansas require tattoos artists to have training and a certificate from the health department, but some states have no state laws about it, so it's up to you to ask about the training and certification of the tattoo artist and the sanitary precautions the parlor undertakes. 

As for the Ohio case, the 16-year-old artist was arrested for violating sanitation standards and for tattooing without a license. While there are, unfortunately, no licensure requirements for becoming a mother, the 10-year-old's mom was arrested for endangering the welfare of a minor.